Study Guide

Professional Food Technologists Licensure Exam Study Guide

What the PRC examination covers, which version applies, the most recent schedule, and how to structure your review around the official Table of Specifications.

Updated September 202612 min readStudy GuidePH Food & Lab Exam
Lily Simpson

Lily Simpson

PH Food & Lab Exam Editorial Team

The Licensure Examination for Professional Food Technologists is administered by the Professional Regulation Commission (PRC) through the Professional Regulatory Board of Food Technology, under Republic Act No. 11052, the Philippine Food Technology Act. The subjects, weights, and item counts come from the Board's Table of Specifications (TOS), adopted by Resolution No. 10, Series of 2022, effective December 11, 2022. Use the subject tables, application checklist and worked weight calculation to plan your review.

What this examination covers and who governs it

The examination tests the competencies of the food technology profession as defined by the Professional Regulatory Board of Food Technology, which operates under the PRC and Republic Act No. 11052.

Republic Act No. 11052, the Philippine Food Technology Act, created the Professional Regulatory Board of Food Technology under the PRC and authorizes it to regulate the practice of the profession. Under the PRC Modernization Act, the Board prepares the syllabus, or Table of Specifications (TOS), for the licensure examination, and examination questions must stay strictly within that scope.

The Board's page on the PRC website lists the Board law, the implementing rules and regulations, the Code of Professional Conduct, and all Board resolutions, including the TOS resolution and its Annex A. It is the first place to check when a new resolution could affect your examination.

The TOS framework gives each subject a percentage weight, an item count, and a difficulty distribution. It also incorporates qualification-level descriptors covering knowledge, skills, values, application, and degree of independence, aligned with the Philippine Qualifications Framework at PQF Descriptor Level 6.

  • Board law: Republic Act No. 11052, the Philippine Food Technology Act
  • Governing body: Professional Regulatory Board of Food Technology, under the PRC
  • Exam blueprint: Table of Specifications per Board Resolution No. 10, Series of 2022
FactDetailSource support
JurisdictionPhilippinesPRC resolution text and board page
Current TOS versionResolution No. 10, s. 2022, effective December 11, 2022Published resolution
Annex A (subject weights and items)Four subjects of 100 items each, published with the resolutionAnnex A to Resolution No. 10 (s. 2022)

Official sources: Implementing Rules and Regulations of RA No. 11052 (PRC Board Resolution No. 07, s. 2022); PRC Professional Regulatory Board of Food Technology page; Table of Specifications Annex A, Professional Regulatory Board of Food Technology (September 2022); PRC Board Resolution No. 10, s. 2022 — Adoption of the Table of Specifications

The current version: the 2022 Table of Specifications

The examination follows the Table of Specifications adopted by Board Resolution No. 10, Series of 2022, effective December 11, 2022. Annex A defines four written subjects of 100 items each, so the blueprint covers 400 items in total.

The resolution states that it applies starting the first Food Technologists Licensure Examination onwards, and it took effect on December 11, 2022 after publication in the Business Mirror. If you are preparing now, this is the governing version; no later TOS appears in the sources reviewed.

Annex A, published with the resolution, sets out every topic, sub-topic, and competency with its weight and item count. Many competencies are examined partly in combination with items from other competencies, which is why the item counts matter as much as the topic names.

One caution: subject lists on review blogs and third-party sites are not official. The Board may revise or exclude subjects and add new ones as the profession requires, so confirm your topic list against Annex A itself and watch for newer resolutions.

  • Subject A: Physical, Chemical, Biological, and Microbiological Principles — 100 items
  • Subject B: Food Laws and Regulations and Concepts of Food Science and Technology, Food Safety, Food Analysis, Food Research, and Nutrition — 100 items
  • Subject C: Food Processing, Preservation, and Food Engineering — 100 items
  • Subject D: Food Quality Assurance and Sensory Evaluation and Other Aspects of Food Manufacturing — 100 items
SubjectTopic weights within the subjectItems
A. Physical, Chemical, Biological, and Microbiological PrinciplesFood Chemistry I 25%; Food Chemistry II 25%; General Microbiology 25%; Food Microbiology 25%100
B. Food Laws and Regulations and Concepts of Food Science and Technology, Food Safety, Food Analysis, Food Research, and NutritionFood Laws 15%; Introduction to Food Science and Technology 4%; Food Safety 15%; Food Analysis 24%; Methods of Research 27%; Basic Nutrition 15%100
C. Food Processing, Preservation, and Food EngineeringFood Processing I 13%; Food Processing II/On-the-Job Training II 29%; Food Packaging and Labeling 13%; Food Engineering 19%; Postharvest Handling and Technology 13%; Basic Food Preparation 13%100
D. Food Quality Assurance and Sensory Evaluation and Other Aspects of Food ManufacturingFood Quality Assurance 20%; Sensory Evaluation 20%; Food Product Development and Innovation 20%; Environmental Sustainability 20%; Business Management and Entrepreneurship 20%100

Official sources: PRC Board Resolution No. 10, s. 2022 — Adoption of the Table of Specifications; Table of Specifications Annex A, Professional Regulatory Board of Food Technology (September 2022); Implementing Rules and Regulations of RA No. 11052 (PRC Board Resolution No. 07, s. 2022)

Most recent schedule and testing centers

The most recent published PRC schedule lists the examination for August 12 and 13, 2026, delivered as a computer-based licensure examination, with a Special Professional Licensure Examination administration in Taiwan earlier in the year.

In the PRC's 2026 Schedule of Examination, the entry appears as Professional Food Technologists (CBLE), held on Wednesday and Thursday, August 12 and 13, 2026. The PRC's results announcement for this sitting confirms that CBLE means computer-based licensure examination. Because that date has passed, treat it as the most recent published sitting and check the PRC schedule page for the next announcement rather than assuming a fixed annual pattern.

The same entry lists testing centers in NCR, Baguio, Cagayan de Oro, Cebu, Davao, Iloilo, Koronadal, Legazpi, Lucena, Pagadian, Palawan, Pampanga, Rosales, and Tuguegarao. Applications ran from May 14 to July 13, 2026, with a target results release of August 17, 2026. The PRC reported that 705 of 1,063 examinees passed the August 2026 sitting and that the results were released in two working days.

The 2026 schedule also lists a Food Technologist Special Professional Licensure Examination (SPLE) on May 29 and 30, 2026 in Taiwan. If you are applying from abroad, the SPLE route exists, but confirm current locations and dates on the official schedule page.

  • Domestic sitting: August 12 and 13, 2026 (Wednesday and Thursday), computer-based
  • Testing centers: NCR, Baguio, Cagayan de Oro, Cebu, Davao, Iloilo, Koronadal, Legazpi, Lucena, Pagadian, Palawan, Pampanga, Rosales, Tuguegarao
  • Application window: May 14 to July 13, 2026; target results release: August 17, 2026
  • Overseas option: SPLE on May 29 and 30, 2026 in Taiwan

Official sources: PRC 2026 Schedule of Examination; August 2026 Professional Food Technologists Computer-Based Licensure Examination Results (PRC)

How the difficulty bands should shape your review

Each subject follows the same difficulty structure: 30% Easy (Remembering and Understanding), 40% Moderate (Applying), and 30% Difficult (Analyzing, Evaluating, and Creating).

The resolution defines the bands, and Annex A fixes the split for every subject: 15% remembering, 15% understanding, 40% applying, 10% analyzing, 10% evaluating, and 10% creating, at PQF Descriptor Level 6. Read together, roughly 70 of the 100 items in each subject expect more than plain recall.

Use that split to pace your review. Drill definitions, classifications, and standard terminology until recall is automatic, because those anchor the Easy items. For Moderate items, practice short applied tasks: reading a data table, completing a calculation, or choosing the correct next step in a described process. For Difficult items, practice evaluating a described situation and justifying a decision in writing.

Keep your practice on paper or under supervision in an authorized setting. Working sample problems prepares you for the written examination; it does not substitute for supervised, hands-on competence in an actual food laboratory or production environment.

Practice exercise

Annex A assigns Food Chemistry I a weight of 25% within Subject A, which contains 100 items. Within Food Chemistry I, competency 1.5 — applying food chemistry principles in practical situations — carries 10%. How many items in Subject A come from Food Chemistry I, and how many of those target competency 1.5?

Show answer

Food Chemistry I contributes 25 items to Subject A, and 10 of those items target competency 1.5.

Both steps are direct percentages of the same 100-item subject: 25% of 100 items is 25 items, and 10% of 100 items is 10 items. As a check, the remaining Food Chemistry I competencies (1.1 to 1.4 and 1.6 to 1.8) carry 2%, 2%, 2%, 2%, 3%, 2%, and 2% respectively, which sums to 15% — exactly the 15 items left after competency 1.5's 10 items. This blueprint arithmetic shows where review time pays off most: competency 1.5 alone is worth more items than any other Food Chemistry I competency.

  • Easy (Remembering, Understanding): flashcards, terminology drills, summarizing each Annex A topic in your own words
  • Moderate (Applying): timed calculation and interpretation exercises built from your notes and textbooks
  • Difficult (Analyzing, Evaluating, Creating): written justifications for decisions in described scenarios, reviewed against authoritative references

Official sources: PRC Board Resolution No. 10, s. 2022 — Adoption of the Table of Specifications; Table of Specifications Annex A, Professional Regulatory Board of Food Technology (September 2022); Implementing Rules and Regulations of RA No. 11052 (PRC Board Resolution No. 07, s. 2022)

Applying for the examination

Applicants must meet the qualifications in Section 14 of Republic Act No. 11052 and file through the PRC's online application system within the announced window.

The qualifications, restated in Board Resolution No. 07 (s. 2025), are: Philippine citizenship, or citizenship of a country with a food technology reciprocity agreement with the Philippines; good moral character; a Bachelor's degree in Food Technology from a CHED-recognized and accredited school, college, or university; and no conviction of an offense involving moral turpitude.

The same resolution confirms the degree programs accepted as equivalent: BS Food Science and Technology, BS Food Engineering, BS Food Technology and Entrepreneurship, BS Food Science, BS Food Science and Nutrition, BS Nutrition and Food Technology, and Bachelor of Food Technology.

If your school has not released your diploma, Resolution No. 07 (s. 2025) lets you submit instead a certificate of graduation, a school certification that you have graduated, and an undertaking to file the diploma later. Your examination results are withheld until the certified diploma is submitted, then released automatically.

The base documentary list includes a notarized application form, birth certificate, marriage certificate for married female applicants, diploma and transcript of records with the remark 'For Board Examination Purposes', and an NBI clearance. Applications for the August 2026 sitting ran from May 14 to July 13, 2026, so plan to file months ahead of exam day. Fees were not stated in the sources reviewed; confirm them on the PRC portal.

  • Eligibility and documents: Board Resolution No. 07 (s. 2022), as amended by Resolution No. 07 (s. 2025)
  • Filing channel: PRC online application system on the official PRC website
  • Timing: the 2026 window ran May 14 to July 13 for an August 12 and 13 sitting

Official sources: PRC Board Resolution No. 07 (s. 2025) — Documents in Lieu of College Diploma; Implementing Rules and Regulations of RA No. 11052 (PRC Board Resolution No. 07, s. 2022); PRC 2026 Schedule of Examination

Common mistakes to avoid

The costliest mistakes are procedural and preparatory: relying on unofficial topic lists, missing the application window, bringing a disallowed calculator, or dealing with fixers.

The PRC warns examinees against fixers who claim connections to Board members or PRC staff and offer to guarantee a pass for money. It also states it is not involved in producing or selling review materials and does not endorse sellers, including those operating near PRC offices. Treat any pass guarantee, or any 'official' review material claim, as a red flag.

Procedurally, the easiest errors are calendar and equipment errors. Application windows close well before exam day, as the May-to-July 2026 window shows, and the PRC publishes an updated list of allowed non-programmable calculators under Resolution No. 1809 (s. 2024), linked from the schedule page. Verify your calculator model before the exam.

A study-side mistake worth naming: building your review plan from an unofficial topic list. The Board can revise the scope of the examination, and the TOS resolution with Annex A is the only authoritative blueprint. Anything you cannot trace to Annex A is background reading, not a tested priority.

  • Never pay a fixer or anyone promising to influence your result; report offers to the PRC
  • File within the announced application window; late filing means waiting for the next sitting
  • Check your calculator against the PRC's list of allowed non-programmable models
  • Anchor every review topic to Annex A, not to third-party subject lists

Official sources: PRC public advisories on fixers and review materials; PRC 2026 Schedule of Examination; Table of Specifications Annex A, Professional Regulatory Board of Food Technology (September 2022)

Passing score and examination results

You need at least 75% in each of the four subjects. A limited removal-examination option applies if you pass a majority of subjects and score at least 60% but below 75% in the others.

Section 16 of the implementing rules requires at least 75% in each subject. If you pass a majority of subjects and score at least 60% but below 75% in the others, you may take one removal examination on those subjects. You must take it at the immediately scheduled licensure examination. Failing that removal examination, or not taking it at that sitting, means failing the entire examination.

The IRR also requires the Board and the Commission to release results within ten calendar days of the last examination day, unless extended for just cause; the August 2026 results actually came out in two working days. What the retrieved sources do not state is the daily time allowance or the fee amounts — the IRR requires payment of appropriate fees without specifying them, so confirm fees on the PRC portal when you apply.

  • Unverified here: daily duration and fee amounts
  • Confirmed: 75% passing standard per subject, with a conditional removal examination; computer-based delivery

Official sources: Implementing Rules and Regulations of RA No. 11052 (PRC Board Resolution No. 07, s. 2022); August 2026 Professional Food Technologists Computer-Based Licensure Examination Results (PRC)

Final checklist and official documents

Work from four official documents: the TOS resolution with Annex A, the PRC examination schedule, Board Resolution No. 07 (s. 2025) for eligibility and documents, and the Board's page for new resolutions.

Before you commit to a review plan, download Resolution No. 10 (s. 2022) with its Annex A from the PRC website and build your topic list from Annex A alone. Then check the schedule page for the next examination date, testing centers, and application window, and read Board Resolution No. 07 (s. 2022) together with Resolution No. 07 (s. 2025) for your documentary requirements.

As your immediate next step, download Annex A and, for each competency, note its cognitive level — Remembering and Understanding, Applying, or Analyzing, Evaluating, and Creating — together with its item count. That single annotated document becomes your review plan, and it is the one artifact no third-party review center can replace.

  • Table of Specifications, Resolution No. 10 (s. 2022), including Annex A: PRC Food Technology board page
  • 2026 Schedule of Examination and Resolution No. 1809 (s. 2024) on calculators: PRC schedule page
  • Eligibility and documentary requirements: Board Resolution No. 07 (s. 2022), as amended by Resolution No. 07 (s. 2025)
  • Board law, resolutions, and the Code of Professional Conduct: PRC Food Technology board page

Official sources: PRC Board Resolution No. 10, s. 2022 — Adoption of the Table of Specifications; PRC 2026 Schedule of Examination; PRC Board Resolution No. 07 (s. 2025) — Documents in Lieu of College Diploma; PRC Professional Regulatory Board of Food Technology page

Official sources

Verified exam facts:

Next steps

FAQ

Frequently Asked Questions

Practical answers to help you apply the guidance for Licensure Examination for Professional Food Technologists.

How many items does the examination have, and how is the time divided?
Annex A assigns 100 items to each of the four subjects, 400 items in total. The daily time allowance was not stated in the sources reviewed, so check your notice of admission and PRC advisories for timing.
What score do I need to pass the examination?
You need at least 75% in each of the four subjects. If you pass a majority of subjects and score at least 60% but below 75% in the rest, the rules allow one removal examination on those subjects at the immediately scheduled licensure examination. Failing it or not taking it at that sitting means failing the entire examination.
Which calculators am I allowed to bring?
The PRC publishes an updated list of allowed non-programmable calculators under Resolution No. 1809 (s. 2024), linked from the 2026 Schedule of Examination page. Check your model against that list before exam day.
Can I apply without my college diploma?
Yes, under conditions. Board Resolution No. 07 (s. 2025) allows a certificate of graduation, a school certification that you have graduated, and an undertaking to submit the diploma later. Your results are withheld until the certified diploma is submitted.

Keep Reading

Related Study Guides

Explore related guides and preparation topics.